About the Registry


The Registry is responsible for the secure custody and safekeeping of Court records; collecting and accounting for all fees received by the Court; and all aspects of proceedings and appeals.


The Principal Registry of the High Court of Australia is located at the seat of the Court in Canberra.  There are offices of the Registry at the capital city of each State and in Darwin.

The Registry services in Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide and Darwin are provided by staff of the Federal Court of Australia.  Registry services in Hobart are provided by the Supreme Court of Tasmania.

A complete list of the offices and their locations is available at the Offices of the Registry page.


Registry offices are open Monday to Friday from 9.00 am - 1.00 pm and from 2.00 pm - 4.00 pm. Registry offices are closed on:

  • Days observed as a holiday by the Australian Public Service;
  • Days observed as a public holiday in the State or Territory of that Registry office; and
  • The days between Christmas Day and New Years Day inclusive.