High Court of Australia Justices 2024

About the Justices

There have been 13 Chief Justices and 42 Justices since the Court was established in 1903, including the current members of the Court. Three members of the Court – Sir Isaac Isaacs, Sir Ninian Stephen and Sir William Deane – resigned from the Court to become Governor-General. The current Justices of the High Court and the dates they were sworn in, are as follows:


Under section 72 of the Constitution, Justices of the High Court:

  • Are appointed by the Governor-General in Council;
  • Cannot be removed except by the Governor-General in Council on an address from both Houses of Parliament in the same session, praying for such removal on the grounds of proved misbehaviour or incapacity;
  • Receive such remuneration as the Parliament may fix; but the remuneration shall not be diminished during their continuance in office; and
  • Must retire on attaining the age of 70 years.

How do I address a High Court Judge? (PDF) (RTF)

More information about the Imperial and Australian honours system